Logo - Click for Cornwall Croquet home page
Cornwall Croquet Club
News & Events - 2019
   
 Click on an event heading to sort on that column.
Probably most useful for Type and
returning to Date order again

Tournaments, training, league matches & special events have precedence but, if possible, a lawn will be left available for general use: other times can be booked by members on lawn booking sheets in club room.      Printable version (pdf)

  Month Date Day Type Time     Event                     
  Mar 30 Sat CCC   Season Begins 1400.
  Apr 14 Sun SWFSC   Short-Croquet Competition Nailsea
  Apr 24   CCC   Newsletter 86
  Apr 26 Fri CA   National Charity One-Ball Competition
  May 7 Tue SWFGH   SWF Golf Croquet Handicap League v Sidmouth SW (H)
Win 13 - 7
  May 12 Sun CCC 1100-1600 OPEN DAY
  May 13 Mon SWF   Intermediate League v Budleigh (A)  Win 2 - 5
  May 19 Sun CCC   Rotarians visit
  May 22 Wed SWFI   Intermediate League v Exeter (A)
  May 22 Wed CCC 1730-1930 Introduction to Croquet For beginners Wk 1 (Wks 2 & 3 TBA)
  May 28 Tue SWFGHH   Golf HH* League v Exeter (A)   Loss 12 - 8
  Jun 10 Mon SWF   Intermediate League v Sidmouth (H)
  Jun 14 Fri CCC   Club Charity One Ball Competition
  Jun 17 Mon SWFGH   Golf H* League v Barnstaple (H)   Loss 8½ - 10½
  Jun 19 Wed SWFGHH   Golf HH* League v St Agnes (A)   Loss 13 - 7
  Jun 24 Mon SWFI   Intermediate League v Lym Valley (H)
  Jun 27 Thu SWFGH   Golf H* League v Exeter (A)
  Jul 1 Mon SWFGHH   Golf HH* League v Budleigh (H)
  Jul 5 Fri SWFGH   Golf H* League v Plymouth (H)
  Jul 8 Mon SWFGHH   Golf HH* League v Plymouth (H)
  Jul 12 Fri SWFI   Intermediate v Kingston Maurward (A)
  Jul 19 Fri SWFI   Intermediate v East Dorset (H)
  Jul 23 Tue SWFGHH   Golf HH* League v Weston-s-Mare (A)
  Jul 28 Sun CCC   Faith Hoop & Hilarity Golf Doubles & More – All Abilities
  Jul 29 Mon SWFGH   Golf H* League v Budleigh (A)
  Jul 31   CCC   Newsletter 87
  Aug 2 Fri CCC   Read Trophy for High Bisquers (16 +)
  Aug 3 Sat CCC   Association Croquet (Full Lawn 14 Pt)
  Aug 9 Fri SWFGH   Golf H* League v St Agnes (A)
  Aug 11-12 Sun-Mon CCC   Golf Croquet Handicap Singles
  Aug 23-24 Fri-Sat CCC   Wilson Salvers AC Handicap Doubles Tournament
  Sep 1-2 Sun-Mon CCC   Golf Croquet Handicap Doubles Tournament
  Sep 6-7 Fri-Sat CCC   Jennings Short Croquet Trophy , AC – Half Lawn, 14 point
  Sep 9 Mon CCC   President's Cup GC Preliminary stage 1
  Sep 13 Fri CCC   President's Cup AC Preliminary stage 1
  Sep 16 Mon CCC   President's Cup GC Preliminary stage 2
  Sep 20 Fri CCC   President's Cup AC Preliminary stage 2
  Sep 28 Sat CCC 1400
1400
FINALS WEEKEND - note event times may be altered to accommodate those playing in more than one final.

Plymouth Cup Final
Golf Croquet KO Final
  Sep 29 Sun CCC
1000
1400
1400

Dowding Cup Final
President's Cup Final - Golf Croquet
President's Cup Final - Association Croquet

      followed by presentation & tea
  Oct 11-13 Sun-Mon BSCC   Short Croquet Tournament at Budleigh Salterton
  Oct 27 Sun CCC   Season Ends
  Nov 17 Sun CCC 1400 CLUB AGM

*H  = Handicap League Team (10 and below)                  
*HH = High Handicap League Team (8 and above)             
 

LATEST ENTRY DATES FOR CLUB COMPETITIONS: -

  Mon Apr 1 Level Play Trophy (AC), Plymouth Cup (AC), Dowding Cup (AC),
Golf Croquet K-O Cup, Wagtail Trophy Level Play (GC)
  Mon Jul 1 Faith Hoop & Hilarity
  Sat Jul 20 Read Trophy (AC)
  Thu Aug 1 Golf Croquet Singles, Wilson Salvers (AC Doubles)
  Mon Aug 12 Golf Croquet Doubles
  Sat Aug 24 Jennings Short-Croquet Trophy (AC)
  Sun Sep 1 President's Cups (AC and GC)
  Please send entries,with fee, to Colin Hadley, Tournament Secretary (see printed sheet).

Wed & Thu Mornings are set aside for competitions running throughout the season, with accrued results. Anyone can play on any of the days, but there is a minimum number of games to be played to qualify for the trophy. There are two games on Wed and three on Thu.
Please arrive no later 0945 to enter the draw for opponents.
There is a no fee to enter each competition, which can be joined at any stage in the season.
Association Croquet handicaps are initially based on normal handicaps, but those for the Golf Croquet remain as normal.

Coaching
– Coaching sessions will be arranged throughout the season for players at all levels in both Golf and Association Croquet. These sessions will be advertised on the club notice board, and possibly by e-mail, giving members the opportunity to enrol on coaching courses they wish to attend.
For further information contact Bob Burnett (Senior Coach) bobburnett@hotmail.co.uk


Club Teams - If you are available for any of the various team matches, please indicate on the appropriate list on the notice board, or notify the League-team manager.


Finals Weekend - Trophy presentation & tea on Sunday September 29th.
All are welcome to support the finalists, particularly on Sunday afternoon for the PRESIDENT’S CUP FINALS.