Cornwall Croquet logo
Cornwall Croquet Club
News Report


Sun 25 Mar 2007

The county's two croquet clubs affiliated to the national Croquet Association held their annual general meetings this month, the smaller club at Fowey on 13th March in Fowey Library, with the larger, Cornwall, on 25th March at Polgooth Village Hall. 

Fowey - The Committee is now headed by Gwen Cussans as Chairman, with Janet Howard as Vice Chairman, the remaining existing team are joined by Peggy Turpin to help with the social side.  This smaller of the two clubs will be entering South West Federation events for the first time this season, gaining help from Cornwall who will lend their two courts at Porthpean for home matches, as the lawn at the Fowey Hotel is too small for these formal events.


Cornwall - Tony Backhouse continues to head the Cornwall Committee, with Richard Griffiths becoming Vice Chairman.

The Spring Season will start on 8th April. 

Prospective new members will be welcome at an Open Day on Bank Holiday Monday.

Two trophies were presented at the Cornwall AGM (pictures below).

 Jenny Burrows - Daphne jennings memorial Trophy






Jenny Burrows won the Daphne Jennings Memorial Cup as the most improved female member.










 Magaret read receiving the Edwars Cup





Margaret Read won the club's first Winter Ladder competition, receiving the Edwards Trophy presented by Barry and David Edwards.





Club Details: Cornwall : 01726 832034  email:
                         Fowey : 01726 832837