Cornwall Croquet logo

Cornwall Croquet Club
Match Report

Tue 23 Apr 2013 - SWF Golf Croquet League                  (Played at Cornwall CC)

Cornwall Rosevear v Cornwall Porthpean

Cornwall Croquet Club's two teams played the first league match of the season on April 23rd. The League rules require that the first fixture of their season is between the two Cornwall teams. Historically, Rosevear have beaten Porthpean, albeit usually by a narrow margin. The match was arranged with twelve singles to be played before lunch, with four more singles and four doubles in the afternoon.

The ten first singles were shared equally, each successive round producing a win for each team. However, two convincing wins by Porthpean in the last session before lunch – Janet Bell (handicap 10) beating Paul Schofield (5) 7:2, and Graham Clark (10) overcoming Tanis Boxall (11) 6:1.

So the advantage, slight though it was, lay with Porthpean as the afternoon session started.

However, as with all but the last of the morning matches, each of the afternoon rounds resulted in one win for each team, leaving Porthpean the worthy winners by 11 points to 9.

The Teams were:

Porthpean – Russell Moore, Rhona Foster, Trevor Bainbridge, Joyce Wilson, Janet Bell, Kathryn Smith, and Kathleen Moorshead.
Rosevear - the players were: Peter Dexter, Tanis Boxall, Paul Schofield, Elizabeth Schofield, Ron George, Pam George, Maggie Dawson, and Barry Edwards.

Final Score: Porthpean 11      Rosevear 9