Logo - Click for Cornwall Croquet home page
Cornwall Croquet Club
News & Events - 2018
   
 Click on an event heading to sort on that column.
Probably most useful for Type and
returning to Date order again

Tournaments, training, league matches & special events have precedence but, if possible, a lawn will be left available for general use: other times can be booked by members on lawn booking sheets in club room.      Printable version (pdf)


  Month Date Day Type Time     Event                     
  Mar 7   CCC   News Update
  Mar 10 Sat CCC 1230 Pasty & Pud lunch in the Clubhouse
  Mar 31 Sat CCC   Season Begins
  Mar 29   CCC   News Update
  Apr 13-15 Fri-Sun SWF   Short Croquet Tournament at Camerton & Peasdown
  Apr 27 Fri CCC   Charity One Ball competition
  May 13 Sun CCC 1100-1600 OPEN DAY
  May 14-18 Mon-Fri CCC 1400-1700 OPEN WEEK
  May 25 Fri SWFG   SWF GC League - Cornwall Rosevear v Cornwall Porthpean (A)
  May 25 Fri SWFG   SWF GC League - Cornwall Porthpean v Cornwall Rosevear (H)
  May 27 Sun SWFP   SWF Parkstone Trophy - Sidmouth A v Cornwall (A)
  May 29 Tue SWFF   SWF Federation League - Cornwall v Budeigh Salterton (H)
  May 30 Wed CCC 1700-1900 Introduction to Croquet for Beginners, week 1
  Jun 1 Fri SWFG   SWF GC League - Cornwall Rosevear v Sidmouth SW (H)
  Jun 4 Mon SWFF   SWF Fedration League - Cornwall v Nailsea South (H)
  Jun 5 Tue SWFG   SWF GC League - Exeter v Cornwall Porthpean (A)
  Jun 8 Fri SWFGL   SWF GC Level Play League - Cornwall v Exeter (H)
  Jun 11 Mon SWFG   SWF GC League - Barnstaple v Cornwall Rosevear (A)
  Jun 12 Tue SWFP   SWF Parkstone Trophy - Sidmouth B v Cornwall (A)
  Jun 12 Tue SWFI   SWF Intermediate League - Cornwall v Budleigh Salterton (H)
  Jun 15 Fri SWFF   SWF Federation League - Cornwall v Exeter (H)
  Jun 18 Mon SWFI   SWF Intermediate League - Cornwall v Weston super Mare (H)
  Jun 19 Tue SWFGL   SWF GC Level Play League - Kingston Maurward v Cornwall (A)
  Jun 20 Wed SWFB   SWF 'B' League - Exeter v Cornwall (A)
  Jun 22 Fri SWFG   SWF GC League - Cornwall Porthpean v Plymouth (H)
  Jun 24 Sun SWFF   SWF Federation League - Sidmouth v Cornwall (A)
  Jun 27 Wed SWFGL   SWF GC Level Play League - Taunton Deane v Cornwall (A)
  Jun 29 Fri SWFB   SWF 'B' League - Cornwall v Budleigh Salterton (H)
  Jul 1 Sun SWFB   SWF 'B' League - Sidmouth v Cornwall (A)
  Jul 3 Tue SWFGL   SWF GC Level Play League - Budleigh Salteron v Cornwall (A)
  Jul 5 Thu SWFF   SWF Federation League - Lym Valley v Cornwall (A)
  Jul 6 Fri SWFI   SWF Intermediate League - Cornwall v Exeter (H)
  Jul 9 Mon SWFB   SWF 'B' League - Cornwall v Taunton Deane (H)
  Jul 10 Tue SWFP   SWF Parkstone Trophy - Cornwall v Sidmouth B (H)
  Jul 10 Tue SWFG   SWF GC League - Budleigh Salterton SW v Cornwall Rosevear (A)
  Jul 13 Fri SWFG   SWF GC League - Cornwall Porthpean v Barnstaple (H)
  Jul 15 Sun CCC   Faith, Hoop and Hilarity - Golf Croquet Doubles & more
  Jul 16 Mon SWFF   SWF Federation League - Taunton Deane v Cornwall (A)
  Jul 17 Tue SWFG   SWF GC League - Cornwall Rosevear v Exeter (H)
  Jul 19 Thu SWFG   SWF GC League - Sidmouth SW v Cornwall Porthpean (A)
  Jul 20 Fri SWFGL   SWF GC Level Play League - Cornwall v Sidmouth (H)
  Jul 23 Mon SWFI   SWF Intermediate League - Taunton Deane v Cornwall (A)
  Jul 24 Tue SWFG   SWF GC League - Cornwall Porthpean v Budleigh Salteron SW (H)
  Jul 27 Fri SWFP   SWF Parkstone Trophy - Cornwall v Sidmouth A (H)
  Jul 29 Sun SWFI   SWF Intermediate League - Sidmouth v Cornwall (A)
  Jul 30 Mon SWFG   SWF GC League - St Agnes v Cornwall Rosevear (A)
  Aug 2 Thu SWFI   SWF Intermediate League - Lym Valley v Cornwall (A)
  Aug 3 Fri SWFG   SWF GC League - Plymouth v Cornwall Rosevear (A)
  Aug 4 Sat SWFP   SWF Parkstone Trophy - Nailsea 3ds v Cornwall (A)
  Aug 6 Mon SWFGL   SWF GC Level Play League - Cornwall v East Dorset (H)
  Aug 9 Thu SWFGL   SWF GC Level Play League - Swanage v Cornwall (A)
  Aug 10 Fri SWFG   SWF GC League - Cornwall Porthpean v St Agnes (H)
  Aug 13 Mon SWFB   SWF 'B' League - Cornwall v Wellington (H)
  Aug 15 Wed CCC   Wilson Salvers (AC Doubles) - Day 1
  Aug 17 Fri SWFP   SWF Parkstone Trophy - Cornwall v Nailsea 3ds (H)
  Aug 19-20 Sun-Mon CCC   Golf Croquet Handicap Doubles
  Aug 24-25 Fri-Sat CCC   The Read Trophy for High Bisquers (16+)
  Aug 31 Fri CCC   Wilson Salvers (AC Doubles) - Day 2
  Sep 2-3 Sun-Mon CCC   Golf Croquet Handicap Singles
  Sep 7-8 Fri-Sat CCC   The Tony Jenning Trophy (AC Short Croquet)
  Sep 10 Mon CCC   President's Cup - Golf Croquet (1)
  Sep 14 Fri CCC   President's Cup - Association Croquet (1)
  Sep 17 Mon CCC   President's Cup - Golf Croquet (2)
  Sep 18 Tue CCC   New Members Day (Golf Croquet)
  Sep 21 Fri CCC   President's Cup - Association Croquet (2)
            FINALS WEEKEND - note event times may be altered to accommodate those playing in more than one final.
  Sep 29 Sat CCC 1000
1400
1400

(Dowding Cup Final if necessary)
Plymouth Cup Final
Golf Croquet KO Final
  Sep 30 Sun CCC 1000
1400
1400
Dowding Cup Final
President's Cup Final - Golf Croquet
President's Cup Final - Association Croquet
  Oct 14 or 15 Sun-Mon BSCC   Short Croquet Tournament at Budleigh Salterton (A)
  Oct 28 Sun CCC   Season Ends
  Nov 4 Sun CCC 1400 AGM


 
 LATEST ENTRY DATES FOR CLUB COMPETITIONS : -

  Sun Apr 1 Level Play Trophy (AC), Plymouth Cup (AC), Dowding Cup (AC),
Golf Croquet K-O Cups, Wagtail Trophy (GC)
  Sun Jul 1 Faith Hoop & Hilarity
  Wed Aug 1 Wilson Salvers (AC Doubles)
  Sun Aug 5 Golf Croquet Doubles
  Sat Aug 11 Read Trophy (AC)
  Sat Aug 25 Jennings Short-Croquet Trophy (AC)
  Sun Aug 19 Golf Croquet Singles
  Sat Sep 1 President's Cups (AC and GC)
  Please send entries,with fee, to Colin Hadley, Tournament Secretary (see printed sheet).


  
CLUB DAYS : -

Wed 1000–1300 Short Croquet Competition (AC)
Wed from 1400 Association Croquet
Thu 1000-1300 Summer Competition (GC)      
Thu from 1400 Golf Croquet
Sat from 1400 Association Croquet
Sun from 1400 Golf Croquet
All other times are available for AC and/or GC and may be booked by members on sheets in the Club Room unless there are tournaments, training, league matches or special events taking place at that time (whereupon, if possible, a court will be left available for general use)


Wed. & Thu. Mornings
are set aside for competitions running throughout the season, with accrued results. Anyone can play on any of the days, but there is a minimum number of games to be played to qualify for the trophy. There are two games on Wed and three on Thu.
Please arrive no later 0945 to enter the draw for opponents.
There is a no fee to enter each competition, which can be joined at any stage in the season. Association Croquet handicaps are initially based on normal handicaps, but those for the Golf Croquet remain as normal.

Coaching –
Except for those sessions shown on the fixture list, coaching will be arranged during the season as advertised from time to time. Individual coaching can be arranged by contacting either Richard Griffiths, Bob Burnett, Des Honey, Ron George or Ian Wilson.


Club Teams. If you are available for any of the various team matches, please indicate on the appropriate list on the notice board, or notify the League-team manager.


Finals Weekend
. The Sunday matches will be followed by the presentation of various trophies and a Club Tea for all members. Everbody welcome to support the finalists, particularly on the Sunday.